Moving on up!

Anyone who is a regular follower of me in Twitter has been following my hunt for a job in the IT industry in, I suppose, a service-level or network support/admin job. Well, I finally landed one! I can’t discuss specifics, mainly because I’m not 100% sure, but it’s a pretty varied client support role. It’s up my alley and I’m really looking forward to it.

For those who don’t know, I’ve pretty much worked in IT or telecoms retail for my working career. I’m currently working in a Telstra Licensed retail store, and while that’s varied (and I’ve learned a lot from working there; details to come at a later date) and I love the people that work there, it’s purely a sales job, which isn’t my forte. I’m far stronger in technical roles, as that’s where my passion is.

I have a lot to learn, though. I have a Bachelor in Information Technology, majoring in Network Systems, but have had limited hands on experience. The great thing is, the business were I am going is happy to have someone who is a bit light on experience, and they are willing to teach the things they do, which is fantastic.

In case you can’t tell, I’m quite excited! A chance to get on with my career in the IT industry, away from retail, and hopefully put my qualification to work in the field I love most!

Leave a Reply

